Turn That Pep Talk Heartbeat Over Again

Stacey tried
I was halfway crucified
I was high upon the uprights
Of no tomorrow
You zapped in
And my life began again
Saved me from another weekend
Of football-free sorrow
All day long
We would sing that old fight song
And every word we sang
I knew was true

Are you with me, Doctor Lou?
Are you really just a shadow
Of the man that I once knew?
Are you crazy? Are you high?
Or just an ordinary guy?
Have you done all you can do?
Are you with me, Doctor?

Don’t seem right
I’ve been strung out here all night
I’ve been waiting for the hits
You said you’d bring to me
An edit bay
Where the football highlights play all day
I went searching for the words
You used to say to me


Wendi lies
You could see it in her eyes
But imagine my surprise
When I saw you

Are you with me, Doctor Lou?
Are you really just a shadow
Of the man that I once knew?
The money’s lovely, your bosses sly
And you’re an ordinary guy
Have they finally got to you?
Can you hear me, Doctor?
Are you with me, Doctor?

(Thanks to Awful Announcing and Saturday Sound-Offs for the first video, and apologies to Fagen and Becker.)

5 Responses

  1. I think the best Dr. Lou episodes are the ones where he faces the Daleks.

  2. “WE FEAR NO-ONE! WE ARE THE SUPERIOR BEINGS!”

    I could have gone that route too.

  3. I always thought that something to believe in is the same thing as having something to hope for, but maybe that’s just me.

    I just mentioned over at Deadspin that my site was the first to have it posted, I just tipped Awful Announcing about it.

  4. Eric, I’m sorry for not crediting you — and I mentioned in the Deadspin comment thread that I certainly didn’t find it first. I wasn’t expecting to get credit for the discovery when I sent my link to them.

  5. It’s cool man, no problem. Thanks for the link!

Leave a Reply

