Les Miles Is Not A Big Fan Of ESPN Today.

(All video in this post comes via Awful Announcing.)

I slept through Gameday this morning, so I missed Kirk Herbstreit claiming that LSU coach Les Miles would be headed to Michigan on the show. Miles didn’t, and managed to get very, very pissed off during an emergency press conference a few hours before the SEC championship game to say he’s staying in Baton Rouge:

“I am the head coach at LSU. I will be the head coach at LSU. I have no interest in talking to anybody else…I’ve got a championship game to play, and I’m excited about the opportunity of my damn strong football team to play. It’s unfortunate that I had to address my team with that information this morning.”

ESPN spent the rest of the day parsing the full statement of Miles for ways that he could still have gone to Michigan in order to save their bacon, eventually passing it off as LSU intercepting it after the bombshell by making a huge offer. They could have simply spoken to Miles himself, much like CBS’ Tracy Wolfson did:

Gee, wasn’t that simple? These are the reasons people bag on the Four Letter so much; when they are wrong, they are comically wrong, and it’s a need to “get it fast and get it first” via speculation rather than, say, waiting until there’s an actual announcement about Les Miles’ future from him and LSU.

One Response

  1. Exactly … well said. I really hate the way ESPN has screwed up time after time this year, and this really irked me as an LSU fan. I am glad Les called ESPN out by name during the angry presser, too. Geaux Tigers!!!

Leave a Reply

