Ill-Advised Predictions For The Championship Series.

Rockies vs. Diamondbacks – The problem with this series for Colorado is that they’re running up against Brandon Webb three times (potentially) and Livan Hernandez twice (again, if necessary), and Webb is a reigning Cy Young (until Jake Peavy takes it from him) and Hernandez knows how to win a World Series. In terms of offense and defense, the Rockies own this series, and the Arizona bullpen is suspect between the starters and Jose Valverde. Still, I’d rather not bet against Colorado again, and if they can touch up Webb or Hernandez once, this series belongs to them. Rockies in seven.

Indians vs. Red Sox – Not that I think the Indians can’t be competitive in this series.  If you’re starting C.C. Sabathia and Fausto Carmona for four or five games (looks like four games right now), then you’ve got a shot. Problem is, Boston can match with better arms and better offensive talent, never mind a more consistent and talented closer when the opportunity arises. I don’t trust Joe Borowski. Red Sox in six.

Photo: AP/David Zalubowski

5 Responses

  1. I agree with the NLCS…it’s going to be a hell of a series. Too bad half the country will be asleep when it’s on.

  2. Ideally, I’d like to see the Rockies and Indians in the WS, if no other reason than to force the networks to actually cover the GAME of baseball than just one over-hyped team. Plus, you just know reporters are going to bitch about the cold weather in Denver and Cleveland(I’ve been to Cleveland in late October and early November; it can get really cold). And this will, of course, spark more stupid talk about playing the games in warm weather or domed stadiums.

  3. La Rev – their loss if they don’t stay up. The die-hards will watch.

    Bruce – that’s what I’m pulling for. No disrespect towards the Red Sox; I like the way they play ball in Boston and I think they’re assassins over there. But I’d like to see the bitching and moaning from the media about how no one is interested, and then making it a self-fulfilling prophecy. Of course, they could also just cover the games.

    Also, there are a couple of Rockies players who have roots in my area of CA (Ryan Spilborghs played at UCSB and Brian Fuentes used to pitch for one of our semi-pro teams here), so my sympathies go there too.

  4. S2N,

    I’m going with the Indians in six. IMO they are the best
    team in the AL. The Sox middle relief could be their undoing,
    and the Tribe has as good as, if not better, starting pitching.
    Plus if the Sox win, that means more of Bill Simmons (groan).

    I’m with you on the NLCS. That has great potential to be
    awesome. I’ll be watching.

  5. Des – I can see that, but I don’t like Jake Westbrook starting two games for the Tribe (including any potential Game 7.) Then again, he’s going against Matsuzaka, who’s inconsistent.

    I’m rooting for a Colorado-Cleveland series, but I just think Boston’s power line-up can outslug Cleveland’s if it gets to that.

Leave a Reply

