Not Bad For Tired and Hung Over, I Think.

The Fantasy Football draft for the Hazean’s league (consisting of most of us involved in the mock round of drafting a month ago or so) went down at 8 AM this morning, and I had to battle hunger, a headache, and getting only four hours of sleep to get through it — never mind the fact that I was the last out of 12 teams in the drafting order. Here’s the draft order, and my formidable opponents:

  1. NFLGuru.net
  2. Curveballs for Jesus
  3. This Just In
  4. The Hazean
  5. FantasyFootballGoat
  6. FanProphet
  7. The NFL Minute
  8. TINO Sports Page
  9. FF Librarian
  10. MWC Football
  11. MyFantasyLineup.com
  12. yours truly

I hate that position. Regardless, here’s whom I drafted, and in what order:

  1. Travis Henry, RB, Broncos (it’s rare when a homer pick is the right decision — update: he’s survived an MCL sprain and should be back for the season start)
  2. Willis McGahee, RB, Ravens (double studly at the RB)
  3. Philip Rivers, QB, Chargers (I wanted Brady, but if Vincent Jackson and Craig Davis can catch, this will be a good call)
  4. T.J. Houshmanzadeh, WR, Bengals (yes, I cracked the “T.J. Whosyourmama” joke; God, I’m lame)
  5. Todd Heap, TE, Ravens (when Gates and Gonzalez are gone, you go here.)
  6. Bears, DEF (duh.)
  7. Santana Moss, WR, Redskins (surprised he was available this late)
  8. Adam Viniateri, K, Colts
  9. Donte Stallworth, WR, Patriots
  10. Reuben Droughns, RB, Giants (the only selection I might chalk up to the hangover taking over — still could be a touchdown vulture, never know with Coughlin)
  11. Steve McNair, QB, Ravens (it’s always good to have a back-up QB that’s actually a starter; could be trade bait too)
  12. Isaac Bruce, WR, Rams (old, yes, but still opposite Torry Holt)
  13. 49ers, DEF (Nate Clements and Walt Harris at corner = INTs)
  14. Greg Olsen, TE, Bears (sneaking suspicion he’ll break out as a rookie)
  15. Mike Nugent, K, Jets (freaky things happen to kickers sometimes, and it was the last pick.)

I try to get starters and back-ups for all positions if possible in drafts, and I’m pissed at myself for forgetting about Devin Hester and not drafting him when I had several chances. FanProphet has a summary of the general first round. Tell me my strategy sucks or not in comments.

4 Responses

  1. You could have done worse.

    You would have had more credibility if you were battling a hangover though.

  2. Ok, I’m confused. The title said hangover. The post said headache. Are you a drunk or not, goddammit?!

  3. I’m a drunk. The Jager bombs from last night prove it. My hangovers involve headaches.

  4. At least you have the 8am excuse…

Leave a Reply

